EN FR

UTP III, our commitment

WE ARE PROUD TO BE THE OFFICIAL PARTNER OF UNDER THE POLE

By supporting Under The Pole, a pioneering underwater research expedition, we are contributing to a more sustainable world. Our support helps advance our understanding of the oceans and preserves our planet for future generations.

Commit to the future

The planet’s oceans are a pivotal natural resource: serving as climate regulators, carbon wells and halieutic resources which represent the main source of animal protein for approximately one billion people. Nonetheless, it’s estimated that we have only explored 5% of our oceans and that 90% of subsea species are yet to be discovered.

“We have better maps of the Moon, Mars, and Jupiter than we do of our own ocean floor.”

Sylvia Earle, Oceanographer and Explorer

WHAT IS THE EXPEDITION UNDER THE POLE AND WHAT DOES IT DO?

Under The Pole is a series of sub-marine expeditions whose objective is to participate in a better understanding of the underwater world by studying in particular the impact of global warming on the oceans.

Under The Pole was founded in 2010 by two dedicated adventurers who lead the venture: Ghislain Bardout – an energy systems engineer trained at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne. He also specialises in deep-sea diving in polar waters and underwater camerawork – and his wife, Emmanuelle Périé-Bardout, a skipper trained at the French national sailing academy and an expert in Polar Regions.

“The human exploration of the underwater world is a source of prodigious inspiration and an indispensable tool to uncover the mystery of the ocean. It is a powerful lever in promoting a sustainable planet.”

Ghislain Bardout, expedition director of Under The Pole

TWILIGHT ZONE

While the levels from 0 to 50 ft. deep is over explored, the mesophotic zone or Twilight Zone (50ft. to 150 ft.) remains relatively if not completely unexplored. The research will focus on the seabed of the Twilight Zone.

Why explore the twilight zone?

Exploring the twilight zone is looking to better know this resource, which is crucial to us, discovering new species and ecosystems, and better observe the scope of changes it is undergoing. This ocean layer hosts new species to discover, ecosystems to study and behaviours to understand. On average, 7 species are discovered per hour!

UNDER THE POLE’S MISSIONS

Calendar

Scientific programs

Bioluminescence and natural fluorescence

Light plays an essential role in the ecology of numerous marine species. Some animals naturally produce it (bioluminescence), while others transmit the sunlight through other colours (natural fluorescence). These phenomena have multiple uses: communicating between species, reproduction, to protect itself against predators. Understanding how bio-fluorescence works in animals allows this knowledge to be transferred to the medical and biological field. A “natural fluorescence” built in laboratories can be used to monitor the evolution of a virus or bacteria during the infection of an animal, which may contribute to the development of antivirals or antibiotics. By marking cancerous cells, we can follow the process of metastasis and develop treatments.

DEEP CORALS OF POLYNESIA

Mostly known in warm surface waters, coral reefs have been discovered a few hundred meters deep. Overflowing with biodiversity, theses Mesophotic coral ecosystems (beyond 50 ft. below the surface) stay widely unexplored. Rarely studied, the coral ecosystems of the Twilight Zone could prove decisive in the protection of the marine heritage. Corals are subject to a lot of stress linked to anthropogenic factors and species are disappearing before we even discover them! And yet, these coral reefs bring ecosystem services of an inestimable value.

POLYNESIAN APEX PREDATORS: THE GREAT HAMMERHEAD SHARK & THE BULL SHARK

Super predators play a critical role in the balance and resilience of marine ecosystems. The main objective of this mission will be to study the ecology of two species of sharks: the great hammerhead shark and the bulldog shark. Scientific knowledge provides decision-makers with tools to make the most appropriate decisions for each region. Understanding the behaviour and role of these species will:

PRACTICAL IMPLEMENTATION OF THE SCIENTIFIC PROGRAMS OF UNDER THE POLE

Science, biology, medicine and current societal challenges.

Previous expeditions

Under The Pole I, Deepsea Under The Pole, 2010
Under The Pole II, Discovery Greenland, 2014 – 2015

WHY IS IT CRUCIAL TO PROTECT THE OCEANS?

70% of the oxygen we breathe comes from marine plants. One type of phytoplankton produces oxygen in one in five breaths. The oceans feed more than a billion men and women and they are an essential climate machine. They regulate the climate and absorb 30% of greenhouse gases.

Why Under The Pole and Bordier?

Exploring the oceans, becoming aware of and understanding the changes that are taking place in them means participating in a better knowledge of the world around us, with whom we interchange and interact daily.

This knowledge is essential, it is indeed the first lever to make decisions and adopt responsible behaviour.

“With Under The Pole, we work for the sustainability and transmission of the assets entrusted to us.”

Michel Juvet, Bordier & Cie Partner

Receive Under The Pole newsletters

EN FR

UTP III, notre engagement

Nous sommes fiers d'être partenaire officiel d'Under The Pole

En soutenant l’expédition Under The Pole, pionnière en recherche sous-marine, nous participons activement à l’émergence d’un monde plus durable. Notre soutien contribue à une meilleure compréhension des océans et favorise la préservation de notre planète pour les générations futures.

S’engager pour l'avenir

Les océans constituent une ressource incontournable – régulateurs du climat, puits de carbone, ressources halieutiques – et représentent la principale source de protéines animales pour un milliard d’êtres humains. Toutefois, on estime que l’homme n’a exploré que 5% des océans et que 90% des espèces marines attendent encore d’être découvertes.

« L’homme connaît mieux la face cachée de la lune que les océans de sa propre planète. »

Sylvia Earle, océanographe et exploratrice

Qui est l'expédtion Under The Pole et que fait-elle ?

Under The Pole est une série d’expéditions sous-marines dont l’objectif est de participer à une meilleure connaissance du monde sous-marin en étudiant notamment l’impact du réchauffement climatique sur les océans.

Créée en 2010 par un couple d’aventuriers passionnés, l’expédition Under The Pole est co-dirigée par Ghislain Bardout, ingénieur énergéticien issu de l’EPFL, spécialiste de la plongée polaire profonde et caméraman sous-marin, ainsi que son épouse, Emmanuelle Périé-Bardout, skipper diplômée de l’École Nationale de Voile et spécialiste des régions polaires. Under The Pole est une équipe pluridisciplinaire : marins, scientifiques, mécaniciens, ingénieurs, photographes cameramen et médecins qui, pendant 4 ans, parcourront les océans, de l’Arctique à l’Antarctique, en passant par le Pacifique et l’Atlantique.

« L’exploration humaine du milieu sous-marin, source d’inspiration prodigieuse et outil indispensable à la juste connaissance des océans, est un puissant levier pour l’émergence d’un monde durable. »

Ghislain Bardout, directeur des expéditions Under The Pole

TWILIGHT ZONE

Alors que la zone allant de 0 à -50 mètres de profondeur est surexplorée, la zone mésophotique ou Twilight Zone (-50 à -150 mètres) n’est encore pas ou peu explorée. Les explorations Under The Pole se concentrent sur les fonds marins de la Twilight Zone.

Pourquoi explorer la twilight zone ?

Explorer la twilight zone, c’est chercher à mieux connaître cette ressource qui nous est indispensable, découvrir de nouvelles espèces et écosystèmes et mieux observer l’ampleur des changements qu’elle subit. Cette couche de l’océan abrite de nouvelles espèces à découvrir, des écosystèmes à étudier et des comportements à comprendre. On y découvre en moyenne 7 espèces par heure !

Les missions de Under The Pole

Calendrier

Les programmes scientifiques

Bioluminescence et fluorescence naturelle

La lumière joue un rôle essentiel dans l’écologie de nombreuses espèces marines. Certains animaux la produisent naturellement (bioluminescence), tandis que d’autres ré-émettent la lumière du soleil sous d’autres couleurs (fluorescence naturelle). Les utilisations de ces phénomènes sont multiples : communiquer entre espèces, se reproduire, se protéger face aux prédateurs. Comprendre le fonctionnement de la biofluorescence chez les animaux permet de transposer ces connaissances au domaine médical et biologique. Une « fluorescence naturelle » construite dans les laboratoires peut être utilisée pour suivre l’évolution d’un virus ou d’une bactérie pendant l’infection d’un animal, ce qui pourra contribuer à la mise au point d’antiviraux ou antibiotiques. En marquant des cellules cancéreuses, on pourra suivre le processus de la métastase et mettre au point des traitements.

Les coraux profonds de Polynésie Française

Surtout connus dans les eaux chaudes de surface, des récifs coralliens ont été découverts à plusieurs centaines de mètres de profondeur.Débordants de biodiversité, ces écosystèmes coralliens mésophotiques (à partir de 50 mètres sous la surface) restent largement inexplorés. Peu étudiés, les écosystèmes coralliens de la Twilight Zone pourraient se révéler déterminants dans la protection du patrimoine marin. Les coraux subissent de nombreux stress d’origine anthropique et des espèces disparaissent avant même qu’on puisse les découvrir ! Pourtant, les récifs coralliens nous apportent des services écosystémiques d’une valeur inestimable.

Les superprédateurs Polynésiens : les grands requins marteau et le requin bouledogue

Les super-prédateurs jouent un rôle critique dans l’équilibre et la résilience des écosystèmes marins. L’objectif principal de cette mission sera donc d’étudier l’écologie de deux espèces de requins : le grand requin marteau et le requin bouledogue. La connaissance scientifique donne des outils aux décideurs, leur permettant de prendre les décisions les plus adaptées à chaque région. Comprendre le comportement et le rôle de ces espèces permettra notamment de :

Applications pratiques des programmes scientifiques d'Under The Pole

Science, biologie, médecine et défis sociétaux actuels.

Expéditions antérieures

Under The Pole I, Deepsea Under The Pole, 2010
Under The Pole II, Discovery Greenland, 2014 – 2015

Pourquoi est-ce vital de protéger les océans ?​

70% de l’oxygène que nous respirons provient des plantes marines. Un type de phytoplancton produit l’oxygène d’une respiration sur cinq. Les océans nourrissent plus d’un milliard d’hommes et de femmes et sont une machine climatique essentielle : ils régulent les climats et absorbent 30% des gaz à effet de serre.

Pourquoi Under The Pole et Bordier ?

Explorer les océans, prendre conscience et comprendre les mutations qui s’y opèrent, c’est participer à une meilleure connaissance du monde qui nous entoure, avec qui nous échangeons et interagissons quotidiennement.

Cette connaissance est essentielle, elle constitue en effet premier levier permettant de prendre des décisions et adopter des comportements responsables.

« Avec Under The Pole, nous œuvrons à la pérennité et à la transmission des patrimoines qui nous sont confiés. »

Michel Juvet, Associé chez Bordier & Cie

Recevez les newsletters Under The Pole