EN FR

UTP III, immersion

Missions

Corals from the depths

This is the main mission of UTP in Polynesia: studying the corals of the twilight zone, located between 30 and 150 meters deep, still unknown. One of the objectives is to understand if these residents of the abyss can serve as a refuge, or nursery, to their counterparts established near the surface and who are highly threatened. And why not attempt, in the long term, to "reseed" coral in order to revive the affected reefs.

Large predators

In some areas of Polynesia more than 90% of shark populations have disappeared. UTP focuses on the hammerhead shark and bulldog shark to better understand their migration and threats. Divers will collect information (DNA) and mark sharks to track their migration and better understand their behavior. Super-predators to study but also to protect because they play a role in the balance of marine ecosystems. As with corals, the goal is better understanding. But also better protection of these species, through the creation, eventually, of marine protected areas, raising awareness and organizing eco-responsible tourism.

Pushing the limits of scuba diving

For five months, the team will dive almost daily through the five archipelagos of Polynesia. They sink to three depths of "work", 60, 90 and 120 meters. For dives that often last between two and a half to three hours (decompression stops, you must eliminate the nitrogen bubbles accumulated in the body before going back to the surface).

Inform and raise awareness in schools

Among the many objectives of Ghislain and Emmanuelle, we must also mention the training and awareness of children and youth. Under The Pole has created a pedagogical platform and tools available to teachers around climate change. The expedition then becomes a support of course, a vector to address the environmental issues related to the ocean and the use of resources through the daily life of the team, its work, its discoveries. A popular gateway, in the form of an adventure that is dreaming and sobering. We also present the different trades present on board, the courses and training of each, to encourage vocations.

Receive Under The Pole newsletters

EN FR

UTP III, immersion

Les missions

Les coraux des profondeurs

C’est la mission principale d’UTP en Polynésie: étudier les coraux de la zone crépusculaire, située entre 30 et 150 mètres de profondeur, encore méconnus. L’un des objectifs est de comprendre si ces résidents des abysses peuvent servir de refuge, voire de nurserie, à leurs homologues établis près de la surface et qui sont fortement menacés. Et pourquoi pas tenter, à terme, de «réensemencer» du corail afin de faire revivre les récifs sinistrés.

Les grands prédateurs

Dans certaines zones de Polynésie, plus de 90% des populations de requins ont disparu. UTP se focalise sur le requin-marteau et le requin bouledogue pour tenter de mieux comprendre leur migration et ce qui les menace. Les plongeurs collecteront des informations (ADN) et marqueront les requins pour suivre leur migration et mieux comprendre leur comportement. Des superprédateurs à étudier mais aussi à protéger car ils jouent un rôle dans l’équilibre des écosystèmes marins. Comme pour les coraux, l’objectif est une meilleure compréhension. Mais aussi une meilleure protection de ces espèces, par le biais de la création, à terme, d’aires marines protégées, la sensibilisation des populations et l’organisation d’un tourisme écoresponsable.

Repousser les limites de la plongée sous-marine

Pendant cinq mois, l’équipe va plonger quasi quotidiennement à travers les cinq archipels de la Polynésie. Ils s’enfoncent à trois profondeurs de «travail», 60, 90 et 120 mètres. Pour des plongées qui durent souvent entre deux heures et demie et trois heures (paliers de décompression oblige, il faut éliminer les bulles d’azote accumulées dans l’organisme avant de remonter à la surface).

Informer et sensibiliser dans les écoles

Parmi les nombreux objectifs de Ghislain et Emmanuelle, il faut encore citer la formation et la sensibilisation des enfants et des jeunes. Under The Pole a ainsi créé une plateforme pédagogique et des outils mis à disposition des enseignants autour du changement climatique. L’expédition devient alors un support de cours, un vecteur pour aborder les questions environnementales liées à l’océan et à l’utilisation des ressources à travers le quotidien de l’équipe, son travail, ses découvertes. Une porte d’entrée vulgarisée, sous forme d’une aventure qui fait rêver et donne à réfléchir. On présente aussi les différents corps de métier présents à bord, les parcours et les formations de chacun, pour encourager les vocations.

Recevez les newsletters Under The Pole